Sign Up  |  Login

30.12.2014
Call for Papers: Vestnik!

09.09.2014
SRAS Announces Updated Posters!

07.09.2014
How the News is Reported in Russia, August 2014

05.09.2014
The State of Study Abroad in Russia and Ukraine

05.09.2014
Meet SRAS - ASEEES, AATSEEL, FORUM, NAFSA

03.09.2014
Corinne Hughes Receives Vestnik Jury Award

01.09.2014
Summer 2015 Student Internship Program with US Department of State

01.09.2014
Scholarships Available!

31.08.2014
Nashe Radio Top Five, August, 2014

Find Us on Facebook
NEWS  / EDUCATOR GRANTS - SUMMER PROGRAMS
20.12.2006


National Endowment for the Humanities (U.S.A.)
Applications to Conduct an NEH Summer Program
in Summer 2008

Each summer the National Endowment for the Humanities supports faculty development through residential projects: 2-6 week Seminars and Institutes and 1-week Landmarks of American History and Culture Workshops. These projects are designed to provide American teachers with the opportunity for intensive study of important texts and topics in the humanities.

SEMINARS AND INSTITUTES  -  Application Deadline is March 1, 2007 (receipt)
Seminars and institutes foster excellent teaching by encouraging collegial discussion of humanities topics within close-knit scholarly communities. They also promote active scholarship in the humanities in ways suited to teachers at all levels from grade school through college. Participants have called the seminars and institutes life changing experiences. They often note that they view the host institution as an important resource for future scholarly endeavors for themselves and for their students. The application guidelines for projects to be held in 2008 are posted on the NEH website here (for school teachers and college/university teachers).

LANDMARKS OF AMERICAN HISTORY AND CULTURE - Application Deadline is March 15, 2007 (receipt)
These grant opportunities are part of the "We the People" initiative, which is designed to enhance the teaching, study, and understanding of American history and culture. Landmarks of American History and Culture workshops bring groups of K-12 teachers or community college faculty together for intensive, one-week, residence-based workshops at or near significant American sites. Eligible applicants include museums, libraries, cultural and learned societies, state humanities councils, colleges and universities, schools and school districts.

Collaborative programs are encouraged. The application guidelines for projects to be held in 2008 will be posted on the NEH website shortly. In the meantime, we suggest that you refer to last year’s guidelines which are on the NEH website at here  (for school teachers) or here (for community college faculty).

Now is the time to draft a proposal or to contact a colleague whom you think might be interested in developing a project. We strongly recommend that you work with one of the program officers listed below:

Thomas Adams 202-606-8396 tadams@neh.gov
Douglas Arnold 202-606-8225 darnold@neh.gov
Barbara Ashbrook 202-606-8388 bashbrook@neh.gov
Sonia Feigenbaum 202-606-8490 sfeigenbaum@neh.gov
Gary Henrickson 202-606-8241 ghenrickson@neh.gov
Judith Jeffrey Howard 202-606-8398 jhoward@neh.gov
Julia Nguyen 202-606-8213 jnguyen@neh.gov
Robert Sayers 202-606-8215 rsayers@neh.gov

Program staff can answer questions, provide samples of successful applications, and comment on an informal draft. Staff can help anticipate questions that are likely to arise in the review process.

Applications must be submitted electronically through Grants.gov.

Institutions must register with Grants.gov, a process which usually takes about two weeks.

We look forward to working with you.

Julia Nguyen
jnguyen@neh.gov



« back to News archive