Sign Up | Login

10.08.2018
The School of Russian and Asian Studies to Change Names, Launch Fully Updated Website

03.04.2018
Summer Study Abroad: Update on Recent Diplomatic Events

28.02.2018
SRAS Announces Special Moscow-St.Petersburg Summer RSL Program for 2018

08.02.2018
Summer Study Abroad: Important Updates

06.02.2018
The State of Study Abroad in Russia

03.02.2018
Russian Studies Abroad (RSA) Splits Into Two Programs

29.01.2018
Join SRAS at NAFSA and Forum

27.01.2018
SRAS and SPBGIKIT Language Partnership: The Year in Review

26.01.2018
SRAS Site Visit to Irkutsk

30.12.2017
Summer Programs Abroad - 2018

04.12.2017
Travel Alert for Russian Cities: May 25 - July 25, 2018

13.08.2017
Scholarships Available!

07.04.2017
Stetson University and SRAS Announce New Partnership

31.05.2016
Call for Papers: Vestnik!

THE NEWSLETTER >> JULY 2018 - RUSSIA'S NEW VISA REGISTRATION RULES

The SRAS Newsletter
A Resource for Students, Educators, and Anyone Curious about Eurasia
 

  SBA Join SRAS in St. Petersburg, Russia this coming spring for a range of electives taught in English on culture, history, politics, economics, finance, marketing, and more.

With the FIFA World Cup on top of a busy study abroad season, this summer has been particularly eventful. It's also been enjoyable and successful. Russia welcomed some five million tourists this summer, with the mood in the crowded FIFA host cities remaining festive. Visiting foreigners, (including our St. Petersburg and Moscow students), and local Russians are reporting very positive experiences.

Outside of Russia, we've had growing numbers of students for our Security and Society program in Warsaw and for our Central Asian Studies and RSL programs in Bishkek. Our Foodways and Continuing Education programs in Ukraine and Georgia had higher-than-expected attendance and very positive feedback and we are already looking forward to offering them again.

A new registration law is already in effect in Russia. Previously, tourist agencies that sponsored visas could register those visas as well. Now, all foreigners must register at their place of actual residence. Researchers and travelers that have come to rely on Airbnb and tour agency registration will need to be very careful in finding housing that will register them. We will keep you updated via this newsletter as it becomes clearer how the new law will be implemented.

Spring study abroad deadlines are coming up in October. Plan ahead!

Check out this month's newsletter below for great material from our student writers - on learning Russian abroad through sport, on art in Siberia, on Russia's municipal waste management systems, on the war-time history of the Leningrad Zoo, and much more!

 

Table of contents
GeoHistory     Students Abroad    Russian Language
PopKult     Museum Studies Abroad     Books

Study Abroad
in Eurasia!

Policy and Conflict Post Soviet

 
Study Abroad
in Russia!

Study Abroad
in Poland!
SSI-banner
 
 
 

- Spring Study Abroad -
Application deadlines: Start Oct 15
See individual program pages for more info

In most locations: Russian as a Second Language
                            Internships
                            Challenge Grants (funding!)

In Warsaw: Security and Society

In Bishkek: Central Asian Studies

In Kiev: Policy and Conflict in the Post Soviet Space

In Russia: Diplomacy and International Relations at MGIMO 
                Society, Business, and the Arts
               
Russia and the Environment
                The Russian Far East


GeoHistory.today
History and Current Events in Perspective

Russia on the Ground     Foreign Affairs     TV News
What do Russians think about issues that matter? What is going on in Russian foreign relations? How does Russian TV really report on the main issues of the day? These free monthly resources from GeoHistory.today are meant to keep you informed.

Recycling and Waste Recovery in Russia: Policy and Infrastructure Challenges
“Municipal solid waste,” or “MSW,” is the technical term given to “garbage consisting of everyday items used by the public.” Managing MSW is increasingly a challenge worldwide; however, the degree of sustainable waste management varies by country. A new article from SRAS Home and Abroad Scholar Rylin McGee.

Europe: Divisions and Unifications
Breaking Europe apart into larger subdivisions for study is difficult. Deciding where to place the various borders can land you in unsolvable debates involving politics, economics, and histories that stretch back thousands of years. This very brief description will detail some major divisions – and the problems in using them.


 Students Abroad
Travel, Study, Volunteer, Work Abroad

Russian Learners and Speakers Club in St. Petersburg 
One of the most intimidating and difficult parts of learning a language is speaking. But luckily there are still people who can help you and places where you can practice with comfort. SRAS Challenge Grant writer Charlie Bacsik tells you about finding just such a place in St. Petersburg.

SRAS Program Review: A Full Year in Irkutsk
New SRAS graduate Alaina DeLeo introduces you to the ins and outs of spending an entire school year in Siberia!

Dorm Sports in Irkutsk as an Immersion Experience
Sometimes the best way to learn a foreign language is to... get out and play! Check out this article from SRAS Challenge Grant recipient Alaina DeLeo.


Eurasian Languages and Cultures
Lessons and Resources from around the Web

Moscow's Merchants, Malls, and Walls
A look at what Moscow's place names actually mean from Michele Berdy of the Moscow Times.

The Weird and Difficult Estonian Language
A young Estonian man discusses why he loves his difficult native language.


PopKult.org
Contemporary Eurasian Popular Culture

Nashe Radio    Polish Pop Hits    Russkoe Radio   Top Russian Movies
Find out what local language hits are playing on local radio stations in Poland and Russia and on Russian silver screens with these free monthly resources from PopKult.org.

Prisoner of the Caucasus, or Shurik’s New Adventures
Learn more about this classic Soviet comedy, still beloved by Russians, then watch the full thing, with English subtitles, on YouTube!

More Russian Resources
PopKult tries to give an expansive overview of contemporary pop culture in Eurasia. Here are a few other resources you might check out for more Russian classic movies, cutting-edge bands, and language practice!


Central-Asia-Studies
 
Featured Book!
91WipeZiBuL
 

 

MuseumStudiesAbroad.org
High Culture, Museum Science

The Leningrad Zoo During the Blockade 
The following history of the Leningrad Zoo during the horrific Leningrad Blockade has appeared in various forms around the Russian internet. It has been presented here, translated for the first time into English, by SRAS Home and Abroad Scholar Lindsey Greytak.

Irkutsk Welcomes Experimental Artist Sasha Roschin 
Sasha Roschin, an experimental artist and illustrator living in Saint Petersburg, recently visited Irkutsk. SRAS Home and Abroad Scholar Rylin McGee got to see his works and hear him speak about them.  

Moscow’s Seven Sisters – A Short History of Stalin’s Skyscrapers 
Moscow’s skyline is largely defined by the seven towering skyscrapers nicknamed "The Seven Sisters." Also known locally as “Stalinskie Vysotki” (Stalin’s Highrises), they are one of the leading architectural legacies of the Stalinist period.


Books from Amazon
New Releases!

The War Within: Diaries from the Siege of Leningrad 
This book recently won the Pushkin House Book Prize. It chronicles the Leningrad blockade, drawing on 125 unpublished diaries written by individuals from all walks of Soviet life who endured that blockade from the inside and struggled to make sense of the world collapsing around them.

Other Russias
This book was also honored by the Pushkin House. The author and artist Viktoria Lomasko told The Moscow Times that she works in the genre of "graphic reporting" which she has done from her travels around modern Russia.

Armageddon and Paranoia: The Nuclear Confrontation since 1945
Former British Ambassador to the Soviet Union and author of the definitive account of the Soviet invasion and occupation of Afghanistan, Sir Rodric Braithwaite offers here a tour d'horizon of nuclear policy from the end of World War II and start of the Cold War to the present day.

Stalin's Meteorologist: One Man’s Untold Story of Love, Life, and Death 
In 1934, the highly respected head of the Soviet Union’s meteorology department, Alexei Feodosievich Wangenheim, was suddenly arrested without cause and sentenced to a gulag camp - less than a year after being hailed by Stalin as a national hero. Olivier Rolin masterfully weaves together Alexei's story and his eventual fate, drawing on an archive of letters and delicate drawings of the natural world that Wangenheim sent to his family from prison.

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution 
The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges.

Gorbachev: His Life and Times
Drawing on interviews with Gorbachev himself, transcripts and documents from the Russian archives, and interviews with Kremlin aides and adversaries, as well as foreign leaders, Taubman’s intensely personal portrait extends to Gorbachev’s remarkable marriage to a woman he deeply loved, and to the family that they raised together. Nuanced and poignant, yet unsparing and honest, this sweeping account has all the amplitude of a great Russian novel.

 


 

If you have views or material you would like to contribute to the newsletter, please contact us.
Want the newsletter?

« back to newsletters archive